Three Principle of Vastu Shastra

by Ujjwal Agarwal 

 The branch of Hindu learning that align the energies of the physical world with the life of man is called Vaastu Shastra, (Hindu Architecture). In Sanskrit the word “Vaastu” means a building or structure and so the expression “Vaastu shastra” is the science of structure. Like Vedic astrology, Vaastu is a vast and highly developed branch. Which work to synchronize the different energies.
In Vastu, three principles of design cover the entire field of deign, building, craft items or daily use items:
  1. Bhogadyam (Utility)
  2. Sukha Darshan (Aesthetics – Beauty)
  3. Ramya (Spiritual Satisfaction)

Bhogadyam (Suitable for the purpose)

The designed product must be useful, lend itself to easy application, for example, a house must have enough space for storage of articles and facility for cleaning. A vessel must be designed in such a way as to hold water and allow for pouring out without leaking or dripping
Sukha Darshan – Pleasing to the eye
The designed product must be pleasing, the proportions of the space and material shape should affect the viewer in a positive manner. This principle covers the exterior as well as interior of the building.
The proportion of the window and doors, the size of rooms all factors are covered under the such darshan.
Ramya (Should provide sense of well being)
The designed product must be pleasing and gives positive vibrations. The proportions of the spaces and material shape should affect the viewer. The measurement employed in the design, considered to be scared measure, are put together in such a way to create harmony in all those who occupy the space or use the object

Related Posts

Leave a Comment

* By using this form you agree with the storage and handling of your data by this website.